Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
DIY Battery Woes
Hello All,

I am new to DIY batteries and new to the forums as well.  I'm having some trouble with (what I believe to be) a very simple battery pack and overall project and I think I might be missing something.

I'm building a small bluetooth speaker system (links to all components below) and the amp runs on 18 to 24 volts.  I decided to add a 6S 18650 battery pack into the system and everything seemed to work fine through one charge of the battery.  I bought the cells (Samsung 25R) from Liion Wholesale and soldered them to the BMS.  I've read you have to be careful soldering to the batteries and I think I did a decent job of being quick with the iron and got everything put together.  Each cell was reading 3.56v after assembly.  I connected the charger I bought and it indicated that it was charging with a red light, and I watched the voltage creep up on individual cells.

The speaker was used several times over the next few days until it ran out of battery.  I plugged the charger in, left if for a few hours, red light changed to green and unplugged the charger.  The speaker would not turn on.

I took everything apart and the battery was reading ~13 volts but when I tested each cell I had three with nearly 0 volts and three at 4.6 volts.  From what I gathered reading elsewhere, I have 6 cells that I should throw away.  How did I get to this point?  Any guidance would be appreciated!

Charger
BMS
Amp

Here is the schematic:

Thanks!

- Josh
Did you charge through the BMS?

There are 2 scenarios here

1. You didnt charge through the BMS and you didnt use a smart charger with balance function. This will cause this behaviour
2. You did charge through the BMS and the BMS is not working properly or not properly attached.

Since couple of cells are 0 you might have killed those cells. You can try to revive them but if they went all to 0.... They most likely are shorted and are better in the bin.