Inverter to house saftey

LishFish

Hey everyone,
Sorry I haven't been updating anything for a while, life kinda got in the way.

One thing that has come to my attention is: How do I safely run a inverter to my house without the need for an electrician in a off grid type set up?

I don't really fancy a 'suicide cord' (male to male extension cord) plugged into the house without tripping something or blowing something up, although if a way around this I'd do it.

When I say off grid I still want everything to turn on but don't want it 'feeding back to the grid' cos then we'd probably blacklisted as tenants for having an 'illegal system' installed, as i'm not an electrician by any means.

(FYI i'm in South Australia)

Can someone help my out here, so I don't do something stupid?

There are also grid-tie systems that will actually since the mains voltage/freq and adjust it's output accordingly. And then as you use power, it adjusts it's output amperage to compensate as best as it can to minimize how much grid power you use.
I think there a few on here who use the grid-tie inverters, not sure who they are off top of my head, though.

Thanks for the reply's guys.
Might have to contact an electrician about what I want to do.
Korishan when you say Grid tie inverters, your saying that they could be used in a off grid scenario but being connected to the Grid?
My other thought was If I just switch off power from the box? This would save power coming in and shouldn't be going back out???

since posting I see that everyone on the interwebs suggest a transfer switch box thing, but this seems to be a switch that just switches off power from the Grid and stops power going back out. Only problem is they need to be hard wired into your box.

hmmm

Grid-Tie inverters work in conjunction with your Grid Mains. It just helps to lower your usage from the grid.

You said: