SMA Sunny Island ????

Chris Davis

I am in the very early stages of my system, Initially I was looking at building a SolarEdge System, as I want per solar panel monitoring. Sorry, I am computer Nerd, and I love data, that is why I am a MySQL Admin ::). Then I found out about the TS4-R (Optimized)from SMA, and started to dig into there product line. What I am looking at is starting with two SUNNY ISLAND 4548-US / 6048-US -lto provide 120/240V power for me in the USA. While they have there own Battery Charge Controllers in them, I don't want to AC couple them to the PV Arrays. So I found thisSunny Island Charge 50 AMP (pdf)and this looks like it will allow me to move the PV system back to being DC Coupled.

Has anyone worked with these devices? Anyone have any feedback ?

I see a price listing on their web site for the Sunny Island. How much does it run? It's nice that it's large scale single split phase and 3 phase.

Belated Update: I guess that should be - I "can't" see a price on their web site.

ChrisDavis said:
I am in the very early stages of my system, Initially I was looking at building a SolarEdge System, as I want per solar panel monitoring. Sorry, I am computer Nerd, and I love data, that is why I am a MySQL Admin ::). Then I found out about the TS4-R (Optimized)from SMA, and started to dig into there product line. What I am looking at is starting with two SUNNY ISLAND 4548-US / 6048-US -lto provide 120/240V power for me in the USA. While they have there own Battery Charge Controllers in them, I don't want to AC couple them to the PV Arrays. So I found thisSunny Island Charge 50 AMP (pdf)and this looks like it will allow me to move the PV system back to being DC Coupled.

They are basically rebrandedTigo optimisers. You can get them under thetigo brand and use them with any panels / inverter or mppt charger they don't have to be used with sma

Inverted18650 said:
sorry misread the original post...I thought you were asking if you should get it, my bad.