newb thread?

CrankyCoder

I am pretty new to this. I have probably watched youtube videos and read about stuff alot of you are doing.

Like I said I am new to this. So I figured I would post about what I am trying to do to start down this road, what I have, what my first goals are, ect. I am very open to feedback/suggestions/guidance

Right now I have 61 cells I have recovered (I know, it's tiny). All have 1900mah+

My first goal is to build a 12v pack. This is to run a 12v water pump. (baby steps)

I was thinking of trying to do the 12v packs with 80 cells each, but i am not opposed to doing smaller packs. I figure whatever size I start with I will try to use as I grow the capacity later with additional packs.

Where I am kind of hesitant right now and could use some feedback is the fusing. I like the idea of fuse wire per cell. But not quite sure what configuration I should go with and what kind of fuse to use. Should I fuse each individual 18650? or just each series?

If there is a "hey newb, start here thread" let me know!

Thanks All.

Hey!

I would go with 3s. And the number of cells totally depends on your application and what you have.
I have made this video:

Its not 3s but its how i do my smaller packs that contain the outgoing voltage directly on 1 pack. You could apply this to your 3s setup as well.

It ultimately depends on your ending usage is going to be.

There are some things that just plain won't run with <11.5V (or thereabouts). You'll rapidly drop from 12.6V to under 12V with usage. Many devices and such will run on the 14V range easier.

DC devices are like AC devices in this since. If the voltage is too low, it will draw more current; which means you'll need heavier wire. If the voltage is sufficient, then it'll run with minimal current and be ok.

I personally would recommend the 14V version as it gives you the greatest stability and longest pack charge life.