Silly question about 3kw solar, charger and battery

Hasekura

Hello people,

Im quite new in the solar panel world and I have a stupid question about it.

2 weeks ago a company placed 10 solar panels on our roof (10x300w panels)
With a Growatt converter that supplies our house electricity and overproduction goes back to the net.

Now id like to install batteries to store the overproduced electricity.

Right now I have collected 24 new Geld batteries (12v 12ah batteries)

The solar panels are connected in 2 pairs 2x5 panels in serie.

My question, how and wich battery charger do I need to install batteries in this system, I prefer Victron.

Thank you for your help and advice.

You basically need to ditch your current inverter for a hybrid setup. The One you got now are for grid tie only. With that Said you can potentially get around it with some built electronica but that isnt easy. Just installing a battery Charger wont work. You need to take that energy from somewhere and and get it back when needed ;)

daromer said:
You basically need to ditch your current inverter for a hybrid setup. The One you got now are for grid tie only. With that Said you can potentially get around it with some built electronica but that isnt easy. Just installing a battery Charger wont work. You need to take that energy from somewhere and and get it back when needed ;)

I see, seems more work then i tought.

So its not possible to place some batteries between the panels and converter?

Hasekura said:
My question, how and wich battery charger do I need to install batteries in this system, I prefer Victron.

You don't need to do anything to your existing system.