Alec's DIY Powerwall

Alec_J

I was going to post a pic of my second pack in the Battery section and instead decided to start my own little thread to document my build.
I am planning a small 7s20p 24v build to start. I like the idea of smaller packs for a number of reasons. I realize there is the potential for greater loss at scale, and may end up rebuilding larger packs later. We shall see. For now I'm focused on getting one string together, panels mounted, and all the rest of the fiddly things going.

image_wmlofz.jpg

This is my first pack. I am using cells from cheap replacement laptop batteries from fleabay. In this pack all cells are 1800mAh.

image_vsqcmm.jpg

The second pack is ready to solder! I got a bit better at bending the bus bar. This whole thing is a learning journey for certain! I knew virtually nothing about electricity prior to this adventure. I am a clinical scientist and have always wanted to learn but just never had the right situation. Well Mr HBPowerwall cured that! His adventures spurred me into action. I thought to myself if this Aussie bloke can do it I certainly should be able to figure it out! [emoji12].

So my bottleneck is cell testing. Well money too! This is so far a hobby so my accountant (read wife) has throttled my build slightly. I am using an IMAX b6 AC to charge the cells.

image_snspti.jpg

Once they are charged I do a test for capacity on the Opus.

image_lhxfcr.jpg

So far with only 1 Opus I am finding cell processing to be the slow point. Again my accountant needs business (Read household) justification for additional capacity!

I think once I actually get this system operational and she sees the advantages this can bring the checkbook will begin to open more. Lol!