Recommended Tools/items for 12v 18650 boat lift solar project

rosrooster

I've been harvesting cells and mah rating them for the past 6 months, and would like to attempt my first 18650 project. Id like to start small with a battery pack for my 12v boat lift.

Currently I have a solar panel and controller mounted that feed a 12v AGM battery that powers my 12v boat lift and some led lights that are on a motion sensor.

I'd like to build a battery pack out of 18650's to replace the AGM battery, not because I need to, just because I want to so that I have a better understanding for when I attempt a bigger project. If this goes well then I'll move up to a Powerwall to supply my shed, and ultimately one for my house.

I have been doing some lithium battery repair to fund my project, and have already accumulated some tools including but not limited to, Sunkko 709AD+ battery spot welder, multimeters, side cutters, Dremel, Pace MBT desoldering station, Solder rework station, other solder guns/pencils, opus bt-c3100, and skyrc m3000.

The two questions that I have is What other tools would you recommend that I add to my arsenal, and What components will be needed to complete this 12v boat lift battery pack?

And once again 12V is the one size you really cant build out of 3.7V nominal Lithium.
3s is to low and 4s is generally to high for it to be optimal. Most equipment cant cope with either or. Just newer solar equipment can.

With that said 3s is often the easiest start even though voltage is to low.
You need battery and a BMS for it. You need to understand how much current is needed and design by that. Then you need to aquire something that can charge the battery. A normal LA is far from ideal to charge LiIon. LiFepo4 is easier since its more well matched towards LA voltages.

Have you looked into the FAQ here?