New to BMS

mobinick

Hey all. So as I posted in another thread, Im pretty new to this stuff, with a high level understanding, but missing some specifics. Please correct me on my understanding here:

With a BMS for a li-ion pack (lets say 3S8P), I understand the BMS will regulate the charging for each parallel group. It will discharge and recharge groups until all are around the same value. So lets say group 1 hits 4.2V, but group 2 is at 4.0 and group 3 is 4.1. It will discharge group 1 down to group 2 level, then start charging it all up again. It will continue this loop until all are around 4.2?

For cells in the parallel groups with differing internal resistance, they should never diverge due to the nature of the parallel connection, yes? The higher voltage cells will naturally discharge into the lower voltage cells until they are all balanced?

If both of my understandings above are correct, is there anyway to identify a bad or severely lagging cell in a large pack...lets say 6S10P....when using reused 18650, how do I monitor health for individual cells when there are so many?

mobinick said:
With a BMS for a li-ion pack (lets say 3S8P), I understand the BMS will regulate the charging for each parallel group. It will discharge and recharge groups until all are around the same value. So lets say group 1 hits 4.2V, but group 2 is at 4.0 and group 3 is 4.1. It will discharge group 1 down to group 2 level, then start charging it all up again. It will continue this loop until all are around 4.2?
A BMS primarily is concerned disconnecting the battery (from charge or discharge)when a cell's voltage get's too hi or too low.
In addition, a BMS might disconnect the battery (from charge or discharge) based on temperature - too hi or too low.
In addition, a BMS might offer a 'balance feature'.....
A balance feature in most BMSs is simply to burn power thru a resistor on a cell to lower it's voltage - to be same as other voltages.