newbie question about amps/loads

Eddieb

Hi,

I'm new to DIY powerwalls and wiring. If I have 2 24 volt batteries in parallel and my inverter pulls a 20 amp load, does this get split 10 amps to each bank?

Yes, pretty much.
If the batteries are in similar condition & similar capacity, it'll likely be pretty equal.
But if one has higher internal resistance eg because it's older or maybe much colder than the other it would be different.

Note also that even if they start out in similar health and roughly share the load, they typically won't remain that way as they age, so you'd need to periodically check how well-balanced they remain. Even batteries from the same batch can have highly diverging IR as they age, which can greatly disturb load balancing.

Wouldn't it also matter how the batteries are connected to the load?
one battery has the positive of the combined 24v battery and the other battery has the negative?

Later floyd

floydR said:
Wouldn't it also matter how the batteries are connected to the load?
one battery has the positive of the combined 24v battery and the other battery has the negative?

Later floyd

Yes, but generally that is more dependent on higher amp loads. However, 20A is pretty significant, even for lead acid batteries. Though, the OP doesn't mention if it's lead acid or lithium. This also makes a difference of how things will maintain balance; especially if it's 24v lithium-ion based which does not 'really' fit 24v systems, but better than 12v

I'm running two batteries which contain 140 (7s20p) 18650 cells each, which each batteries having a BMS system. Specifically the jehu pcbs and bms. Each bms is rated for ~50 amps but the boards specify a 40 amp limit without modification. They are connected in parallel to copper bus bars which are feed by a solar MPPT charge controller which maxes out at 80 amps.